A little Chichewa, anyone?

I have been here a few weeks now, so I think it is only fair to give you all a taste of the language I am so miserably struggling to speak.

Muli Bwanji: How are you? (This is said to someone who you are meeting for the first time)

Ndi li bwino: I am fine

Ndi lib wino kaya inu: I am fine, and you?

Mwaszuka bwanji: How are you? (In the morning)

Ndadzukwa bwino kaya inu: I am fine and you? (In the morning)

Mwaswela bwanji: How are you? (In the afternoon)

Ndaswela bwino kaya inu: I am fine and you? (In the afternoon)

Bobo: What’s up? What’s good?

Zikuyenda: How’s it going?

Tionana: See you later

Ndikupita: I am leaving

Zikomo: Thank you

2 thoughts on “A little Chichewa, anyone?

  1. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It’s always useful to read through articles from other writers and
    practice a little something from other websites.

Leave a Reply

